×
We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, and provide you with personalized content throughout our site. To learn how we use cookies and how you can control them, read our Privacy Policy. By closing this message box or continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies.
Properties
ISBN 9781524703400
Author C. A. Belmond; Camille Aubray
Publisher Diversified Publishing
Format Trade Paper
Published 2016-08-09
Language English
Pages 576
Edition Large Type

Cooking for Picasso

Paperback — Aug 9, 2016 by C. A. Belmond; Camille Aubray

Buy Used - Very Good

$5.48

Only 1 left!
Earn $0.82
in Rewards[*]

In Stock
FREE Shipping
Arrives in about 5–9 business days

Extra savings! Buy today and we estimate that you’ll earn $8.18
in Daily Holiday Bonus Rewards


Ships from and sold by Better World Books
73% Positive Ratings
Product Details
For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist's life.

"A tasty blend of romance, mystery, and French cooking."--Margaret Atwood, via Twitter

The French Riviera, spring 1936: It's off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where seventeen-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Caf#65533; Paradis. A mysterious new patron who's slipped out of Paris and is traveling under a different name has made an unusual request--to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he's secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito.

Pablo Picasso is at a momentous crossroads in his personal and professional life--and for him, art and women are always entwined. The spirited Ondine, chafing under her family's authority and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to discover her own talents and appetites. Her encounter with Picasso will continue to affect her life for many decades onward, as the great artist and the talented young chef each pursue their own passions and destiny.

New York, present day: C#65533;line, a Hollywood makeup artist who's come home for the holidays, learns from her mother, Julie, that Grandmother Ondine once cooked for Picasso. Prompted by her mother's enigmatic stories and the hint of more family secrets yet to be uncovered, C#65533;line carries out Julie's wishes and embarks on a voyage to the very town where Ondine and Picasso first met. In the lush, heady atmosphere of the C#65533;te d'Azur, and with the help of several eccentric fellow guests attending a rigorous cooking class at her hotel, C#65533;line discovers truths about art, culture, cuisine, and love that enable her to embrace her own future.

Featuring an array of both fictional characters and the French Riviera's most famous historical residents, set against the breathtaking scenery of the South of France, Cooking for Picasso is a touching, delectable, and wise story, illuminating the powers of trust, money, art, and creativity in the choices that men and women make as they seek a path toward love, success, and joie de vivre.

Praise for Cooking for Picasso

"Intrigue, art, food, and deception are woven together in a tale of love and betrayal around the life and legacy of Picasso. Touching and true, this well-written narrative made me long for my mother's coq au vin and for the sun of Juan-les-Pins."--Jacques P#65533;pin, chef, TV personality, author

"Intriguing and insightful, the sensory details alone will have you thinking you're reading the pages seated at a seaside caf#65533; in the South of France."--Susan Meissner, author of Secrets of a Charmed Life

"[A] delicious, atmospheric novel . . . You'll be glad you're along for the ride."--People (Pick for "The Best New Books")

"[A] colorful family saga . . . Cooking for Picasso is . . . about how people take what seems to be worthless and make it into something priceless. . . . The characters in Camille Aubray's debut novel illustrate . . . that value lies not in what you own, but in who you are."--The Washington Post

"This richly crafted tale of love, trust, art and food is wonderfully evocative of the sun-kissed C#65533;te d'Azur, while weaving in a modern-day mystery. . . . Ideal for whiling away some time en vacances on the Riviera."--France Today

"[A] sweet summer escape."--Cosmopolitan
Condition Notes
Book is in Used - Very Good condition. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!

More Books From This Author



[*] Buyers will receive rewards credits (Rewards) to their rewards account as set forth in seller’s listing. In the near future, Public Market plans to launch the Patron token (PTRN), a blockchain-based rewards token. PTRN will exist on the Ethereum blockchain as a store of value and will contribute toward unlocking benefits in our upcoming membership program. Once the PTRN tokens have been made available to the public, your Rewards may be redeemed, at the option of the company, only for PTRN tokens at the then-market value. The PTRN token may then be deposited to your crypto wallet (see Rewards Terms for process). If PTRN tokens are not made available to the public by March 31, 2020, you may request redemption of the amount of Rewards in your Rewards account, and Company will deliver the Rewards to you in the form of, in its discretion, either (a) USD; or (b) an equivalent credit (e.g., Public Market store credit or other value). If the PTRN token is made available to the public, rewards are not redeemable in USD or an equivalent credit. Rewards are available only to US-based buyers using a US shipping and billing address. See How It Works, FAQs and Rewards Terms for more information.